s< 2017 By-elections Calendar

Key dates of the Myanmar 2017 by-election

By-elections are held to fill a seat in Myanmar’s three legislative houses that has become vacant after holding the General Elections. Since August 2016, a total of 19 seats became vacant in Myanmar’s three legislative bodies. Vacancies occurred because members of parliament that were elected in the 2015 elections were either appointed to ministerial positions, or are now deceased.

There will be a total of 19 contested elections across 8 states and regions and includes 22 townships. The amount of seats contested in the by-election per each legislative assembly includes 9 seats in the Pyithu Hluttaw, 3 seats in the Amyotha Hluttaw, and 7 seats in Region/State Assembly.

By-election will be conducted in April 1st 2017.

November 2016

December 2016

January 2017

February 2017

March 2017

Election Day
Preliminary results will be announced by the respective Sub-Commissions
and will be officially declared by the UEC on the official website.